“All are Precious Jewels” – Accepting our Cultural Differences

Mary Pat Fisher | International conference “Spiritual Renewal is the Path to Prosperity and Harmony”, Astana, October 17-18, 2017

In the newly-formed Eurasian Peoples’ Assembly, we have started a project to share short videos from all Eurasian countries with spiritual, humanitarian, or inspirational content, for the sake of recognizing each other as brothers and sisters. It seems like a good cause. But from the outset, we have run into one major problem: cultural differences that viewers from other cultures cannot tolerate.

            Someone has sent us a video from a South Asian country which shows a man washing the feet of his elderly mother as she sits on a rope bed. Then, somewhat surprisingly, he goes on to drink the water from her footbath and wash his arms and face with it. After that, he and his mother embrace each other very affectionately. To South Asian viewers, this is a touching visual story. Our Forum’s Liz Augustat of Germany was so moved by it that she immediately called her own mother to see if she was okay. Liz has a warm heart and international perspective. But when she showed the video to other people in Germany, many found it strange and some were even disgusted. 

            On the other hand, if we were to show a video of Europeans and Russians frolicking in the nude on the beaches of Goa in India, many traditional South Asians would find the images very offensive, for their cultures expect a high degree of modesty in dress. If people cannot tolerate such differences, how can they recognize the others as their own brothers and sisters in our one human family?

            One solution is education about each others’ cultures, so that we are more sympathetic toward our outer differences. Therefore I wrote a short introduction for the footwashing video: “Footwashing is a traditional way of showing love, respect, and care for elders in South Asia. The son in this video goes even farther in expressing his reverence for his mother.” Liz thinks that her countrymen may be much more tolerant of the video’s contents after reading even this brief explanation.

            Similarly, perhaps we could explain to conservative South Asians that people from cold and cloudy countries have a deep craving for sun—such that they long to expose their whole body to it when they have the chance. At Gobind Sadan, the interfaith community where I live in India, some guests from colder countries want to take sunbaths in the garden in skimpy clothing.  We request them to go up to the flat roof if they want to sunbathe, so that they cannot be seen and will not offend anyone.  

            Reverence for elders is not common in the West, but is easily understood in South Asia because it is deeply ingrained in the cultures. Desire for sunlight is a physical need, for the body needs Vitamin D, but exposing the body to the sun is not readily understood by those for whom the hot sun is a problem much of the year and who have much greater love for shade. Thus we need to go beneath the surface to learn about the origins of behaviors we find offensive.        Why can’t we accept people as they are, without judgment? In describing the qualities of the Khalsa—the order of the pure established by Guru Gobind Singh to defend dharma—the Guru said that criticism of others is one of the first things that a member of the Khalsa renounces. By contrast, we take offense at the slightest thing—the clothes a person wears or doesn’t wear, the loud volume at which some people speak, music that we don’t like, someone’s strictness in insisting that we comply with rules, et cetera, et cetera.

On a broader scale, whole communities of people become intolerant of those whose habits are different than theirs. Indian-born Sikhs living in the United States and Australia have become targets of hate crimes because they wear turbans, which ignorant people have associated with terrorism. People have yelled extremely insulting abuses at them, likening their head coverings to “diapers” and “rags,” physically attacking them and trying to tear off their turbans. Little do these people know that Guru Gobind Singh ordered his Sikhs to live as God-oriented sadhus with naturally long hair, but bind it up in a turban for neatness in order to live in the world, helping the people. The turban was to be their distinctive symbol so that anyone could recognize them and seek their help in times of trouble.   

In addition to educating ourselves about cultural differences, we also need to educate and tame our ego. This requires deep inner spiritual practice. We need to recognize and do battle with our own weaknesses rather than finding fault with others. We need to relax our egos, to let the boundaries of our hard shells soften. If people are behaving in a way we find offensive, it is much easier to get along with them if we are relaxed rather than tense and defensive.

The deeper solution is to embrace our differences, going far beyond mere tolerance. Again, this requires spiritual practice and spiritual understanding. All prophets have taught us to love each other. Our teacher Baba Virsa Singh taught us that God did not send us here to judge each other; God sent us here to love and serve each other.

The Fifth Sikh Guru, Guru Arjun Dev, said,

The Creator is in the creation,

And the creation abides in the Creator.

Whom can we call bad,

When there is no one other than Him? [Guru Granth Sahib p. 1381]

Guru Granth Sahib, the universal Sikh scripture compiled from writings of Hindu and Muslim saints as well as Sikh Gurus, shows us that we can worship God in many forms and also beyond any form, for all paths lead to the same One God. There can be room in our heart for everyone, as they are, if we truly grasp that our Beloved resides in each and every person. The Sufi master Shaikh Farid’s guidance preserved in Guru Granth Sahib includes these lovely verses:

Do not speak even a discourteous word;

The True Master abides in all.

Do not break anyone’s heart;

All are priceless jewels.

The minds of all are priceless jewels;

To hurt them is not good at all.

If you yearn for your Beloved,

Do not hurt anyone’s heart.  [Guru Granth Sahib page 1384]

We should look for those inner jewels with the eyes of love, rather than seeing only the rough exterior. The more people you can embrace and love, the richer is your life. You see precious jewels wherever you look. Cultural differences become deeply interesting rather than offensive or strange.

            We have started this video project because we have a great longing to see the faces of our brothers and sisters everywhere, no matter how they manifest their humanity outwardly. God is blessing each and every one. May we look at each other with the eyes of God.

Глава государства побеседовал с первостроителями и поздравил их с 20-летним юбилеем столицы.

06.07.2018

ВСЕ МЫ ДРАГОЦЕННЫ: Принятие наших культурных отличий

Mary Pat Fisher | Международная конференция «Духовное возрождение – путь процветания и согласия», г. Астана, 17-18 октября 2017 года

В основанной недавно Ассамблее народов Евразии мы начали работу над проектом, в котором люди из всех стран Евразии делятся короткими видеофильмами духовного, гуманистического и вдохновляющего содержания, помогающими нам увидеть друг в друге братьев и сестер. Мы считаем это добрым начинанием. Но с самого начала мы сталкиваемся с одной большой проблемой – культурные различия, которые трудно принять зрителям из других культур.

Нам прислали видео из Южной Азии, в котором мужчина омывает стопы своей пожилой матери, сидящей на плетеной кровати. Затем, к некоторому удивлению, он выпивает воду, в которой мыл ее стопы, и моет этой водой свое лицо и руки. Затем они с матерью с большой любовью обнимают друг друга. Для зрителей из Южной Азии это трогательное зрелище. Член нашей Ассамблеи Лиз Аугустат из Германии была так тронута, что сразу позвонила своей матери, чтобы спросить о ее здоровье. У Лиз доброе сердце и широкие взгляды на интернациональные вопросы. Но когда она показала это видео другим людям в Германии, многие нашли его странным, а у некоторых оно даже вызвало отвращение. 

С другой стороны, если бы мы показали видео с раздетыми европейцами или русскими на пляжах в Гоа в Индии, многие люди традиционных взглядов из Южной Индии нашли бы это очень оскорбительным, потому что в их культурах принято одеваться очень скромно. Если люди не могут терпеть такие различия, как они смогут узнать в других братьев и сестер своей общей человеческой семьи?

Одно из решений этой проблемы – узнавать больше о других культурах, чтобы относиться с бо́льшим пониманием к нашим внешним различиям. Поэтому я написала короткое вступительное слово к видео об омовении стоп: «Омовение стоп – это традиционный способ выражения любви, уважения и заботы о старших в Южной Азии. На этом видео сын делает даже больше, выражая свое почтение к матери». Лиз думает, что, возможно, ее соотечественники отнесутся намного более толерантно к содержанию видео, прочитав это краткое описание.

Таким же образом, возможно, мы могли бы объяснить консервативным жителям Южной Азии, что у людей из холодных и пасмурных стран есть сильная тяга к солнцу – настолько сильная, что они стремятся подставить солнечным лучам все свое тело, когда у них появляется такая возможность. В Гобинд Садане – межконфессиональной общине в Индии, где я живу, некоторые гости из холодных стран хотят принимать солнечные ванны в саду в короткой одежде. Мы просим их подняться на плоскую крышу, чтобы их не увидели и чтобы их вид никого не оскорбил.

Почтение к старшим непривычно для Запада, но в Южной Азии оно понятно всем, потому что оно глубоко укоренилось в их культурах. Стремление к солнечному свету – физическая потребность, потому что тело нуждается в витамине Д, но тем, для кого горячее солнце создает трудности почти весь год и кто намного больше любит тень, трудно понять людей, подставляющих свое тело солнцу. Поэтому нам нужно взглянуть глубже, чтобы узнать о причинах поведения, которое нам кажется оскорбительным.

Почему мы не можем принять людей такими, как они есть, без осуждения? В описании качеств Хальсы – ордена чистых, основаного Гуру Гобиндом Сингхом для защиты дхармы, – Гуру сказал, что критика других  – это одна из тех привычек, от которых член Хальсы должен отказаться в первую очередь. Мы же, наоборот,   обижаемся на такие мелочи, как одежда, которую носит или не носит человек, на громкий голос, которым разговаривают некоторые люди, на музыку, которая нам не нравится, на строгость некоторых людей, с которой они настаивают, чтобы мы выполняли правила, и т.д.

Если посмотреть в более широком масштабе, то можно увидеть, что целые общины людей становятся нетерпимыми к тем, чьи привычки отличаются от их собственных. Сикхи, родившиеся в Индии, но живущие в США и Австралии, стали мишенями для ненависти и преступлений из-за того, что они носят тюрбаны, которые невежественные люди ассоциируют с терроризмом.  Люди выкрикивали оскорбления в их адрес, сравнивая их головные уборы с «подгузниками» и «тряпками», атаковали их и пытались сорвать с них тюрбаны. Разве эти люди знали о том, что Гуру Гобинд Сингх приказал своим ученикам жить в преданности Богу, как аскетам, не отрезая волосы, но убирая их под тюрбан для аккуратности, чтобы, живя в миру, помогать людям. Тюрбан стал символом, отличающих их от других людей, чтобы каждый мог их узнать и обратиться к ним за помощью в трудную минуту.

Нам надо не только узнавать больше о наших культурных различиях, но и учиться воспитывать и укрощать свое эго. Для этого нужна глубокая внутренняя духовная практика. Нам нужно узнавать свои слабости и бороться с ними, а не искать недостатки в других. Нам нужно успокаивать свое эго, чтобы границы между нами не были такими жесткими. Если поведение людей на первый взгляд кажется нам оскорбительным, намного легче поладить с ними, находясь в спокойном состоянии, а не в напряжении, занимая оборонительную позицию.

Более глубокое решение – это принять людей в свои объятия со всеми отличиями, что намного превосходит простую терпимость. Это тоже требует духовной практики и духовного понимания. Все пророки учили нас любить друг друга. Наш учитель Баба Вирса Сингх говорил, что Бог послал нас сюда не для того, чтобы мы осуждали друг друга, Бог послал нас сюда любить друг друга и служить друг другу.

Пятый сикхский Гуру, Гуру Арджун Дэв, сказал:

«Создатель живет в своем творении,

А творение – в Создателе.

Кого мы можем назвать плохим,

Когда нет никого кроме Него? (Гуру Грантх Сахиб, стр. 1381)»

Гуру Грантх Сахиб, универсальное священное писание сикхов, состоящее из гимнов индуистских и мусульманских святых, а также сикхских Гуру, показывает, что мы можем поклоняться Богу в разных формах, а также вне всяких форм, потому что все пути ведут к единому Богу. Мы можем найти в своем сердце место для каждого таким, какой он есть, если мы действительно поймем, что наш Возлюбленный Бог живет в каждом человеке. В наставлении суфийского учителя шейха Фарида из Гуру Грантх Сахиба есть такие трогательные стихи:

«Не произноси неучтивых слов –

Истинный Повелитель живет во всех.